About Primeira Liga

Established in 1934, the Primeira Liga (English: Premier League), also known as Liga Portugal Bwin due to its sponsoring partner, is the peak of Portuguese football. This summit was reached with a union between two regional championships from Lisbon and Porto. As such, it has become one of the most esteemed leagues worldwide for soccer enthusiasts ever since! The inaugural edition had ten teams, four from Lisbon and six from Porto. Benfica is the most successful club in Primeira Liga history. Portugal's top-flight football competition was founded in 1934 as the Campeonato de Portugal. In 1938, it was renamed the Primeira Liga. The Primeira Liga is contested by 18 teams, with the two lowest-ranked teams relegated to the Segunda Liga and replaced by the top-two finishers in that division. 

The Primeira Liga is a founding member of the UEFA club competitions. It was first contested in 1934 when ten teams met in a two-stage tournament to decide the Portuguese champion. The inaugural edition had Benfica as its champion. In 1938, the competition was renamed the Primeira Liga, after the Portuguese Fascists came to power. After the overthrow of the Portuguese dictatorship in 1974, the Primeira Liga was renamed again, this time to Liga Portuguesa. In 1999, the competition was renamed yet again, this time to Primeira Liga. It is currently ranked 5th in UEFA's club competition ranking. The Primeira Liga is broadcast on television in Portugal and internationally. The rights to broadcast the Primeira Liga are currently held by Sport TV, with Benfica's matches being shown on TV.

The Primeira Liga is one of the top football leagues in Europe and attracts some of the continent's best players. Cristiano Ronaldo, Nani, Ricardo Quaresma, Deco, Pepe, and Hulk are just a few of the big names to have graced the league in recent years. It is also home to some of Portugal's most historic and successful clubs, including Benfica, Porto, and Sporting Lisbon. These three clubs have won a combined total of 97 Primeira Liga titles between them. It is a highly competitive league, with the top teams regularly challenging for the title and European qualification. In recent years, FC Porto has been the most successful team in the Primeira Liga, winning the title four times in the last six seasons.

Primeira Liga tickets are now on sale at Yadara! Get your tickets to see your favorite Portuguese Primeira Liga football clubs including SL Benfica, Sporting CP, and more. Primeira Liga is the top football league in Portugal and features some of the best football clubs in the world. Don't miss your chance to see these teams in action. Buy cheap Primeira Liga tickets today! Don't worry, all purchases are 100% guaranteed with the Yadara Buyer Guarantee. For more ticket information, visit our website at Yadara.com.